top of page

Singapore Study Journey: A quick guide

Updated: Nov 2, 2021

Welcome or welcome back!

In today's blog, I will be sharing a bit of my journey in Singapore, being there for 4 years, I thought why not use this chance to write and share my knowledge. Today's content focuses more on the environment and the lifestyle.


Singapore is a safe country

Correct

Singapore is a small island in the Southeast Asia region. Since it is a small country, they have good control of activities happening around the country. Cameras are everywhere in the city, and I feel safe walking home alone late at night.

Their transportations are top-notch in my opinion. The MRT station is organized, clean, fast, and usually on time. So do the Buses. There is a traffic jam, which happens before or after work hours but overall, I would still rate their transport and roads excellent.



Singapore is mixed with different cultural practices

Correct

The country is diverse due to the larger proportion of its population being immigrants, as they come from different backgrounds, they contribute their origin habit into the country. Hence, making Singapore a multi-nation country. And it was genuinely an eye-opening experience for me having to meet with different races, and enjoy the different cultures.

Little India, Chinatown, and Arab Street are some of the highlights of the city where you would want to visit if you are there. And I do feel that there is less of distinguishes act between races in the country due to its diversity in the nation. I hope this is a fact, but anywhere around the world, there would be mistreatment happening, so for me, coming from a small country, I feel more or less equally treated.


Singapore is Expensive

Correct

It is expensive to live if you come from a developing country or actually, any. The majority of the products are imported, making the overall market price higher than locally produced. My weekly grocery can cost SGD 25 and above, depending on where and what I buy. FairPrice, Sheng Siong, and local markets sell relatively cheap products compared to Cold Storage and Medi-Ya Supermarket.

Eating out is common in the city, and the price ranges can be considered affordable if you choose to dine in Food Court – where you can experience different cuisines and very iconic in Singaporean Lifestyle; expect SGD 4 – SGD 7 for a bowl of noodles. Otherwise, you can feel fancy dining in restaurants, which would cost around SGD 20 onward (incl 17% GST and service charges). The portion is okay for me but might be small for some who have a huge appetite.


Transportation is convenient and pricing-wise; I would say it is reasonable if you travel by Public Transport. (You can buy and top up the ezlink, net card in MRT station) cause Taxis and Grab are quite expensive, and it can increase based on hours.


Renting wise, I think it is expensive if you are on a budget. If you want to stay nearby the central area, it is pricy for a common room ( shared bathrooms), and even more, for a master room, the price can go from 1300 for common and 1600 for master in this area. And as I notice, the price ranges do not shift a lot year-round. You can opt for a common room in other areas that are not as central, where I would say it is less expensive, larger space and cleaner. Anyway, the city is well connected by transportation, so it is just up to your preference.

Finding houses in Singapore is quite easy, online websites are the easiest way to find, like Propertyguru, 99.co, rentinsingapore; and you can come to the house to check out before deciding to stay. You can negotiate your price point, usually, the landlord or agent would discount a little bit.

If you go through an agency, double-check and make sure they are legit. There are other options like student dorms or residences that are safe, may be expensive, but it might be a good temporary choice when you first arrive.



People in Singapore are friendly

Correct to an extend

Generally speaking, I didn’t have many issues communicating with people there. The good side is a majority of people speak English and don’t be surprised by their accents, just the uniqueness in different places. I would say the people I encountered; were straightforward and polite. I don’t necessarily think it is fair to judge the whole population because my experience might be different from others, and everywhere there will be different types of people.


Singapore lifestyle is chill and relax

False to an extend

From my perspective, Singapore is a highly competitive environment. You can see people rushing to eat lunch, and there is always a rushed crowd in cross-sections of the street. I have seen their routine of working. It is efficient in punctual manners. It is impressive how they keep up with life every day. I feel that many people have mental issues caused by stress at work and lifestyle, and initially, I felt overwhelmed keeping up with the life pace there.

I am not saying they are only working and working; people in Singapore have their ways of relaxing. Shopping malls, parks, and beaches, the club is filled with people on weekends, and often they would be going on trips to nearby islands or Malaysia as places to hang out. (this is before and hopefully after the pandemic as well)



Singapore is fun to live

Depend

This is very much based on your lifestyle. The city is always hyped and crowded; you would be surrounded all time. There are activities to try out, but again, they may come with a cost. You can find your calmness blending into nature with a walk in a park or scrolling by the river, escape the busy city vibe by going to a different nearby place by car/ bus. You can enjoy the nightlife at Clarke Quay, Geylang, there is always places to full fill your need.

Of course, due to its size, the city has its limited offers, and you can feel repeated and overwhelmed with the dense lifestyle. A lot of the scenery is human-made, it is amazing how the country develops with such limited natural resources, still it might leave this feeling of wanting more.


So, is Singapore generally a great place to study and stay?

For me, absolutely!

I felt like the whole journey being in Singapore is me traveling to a more modern town. It ticks my boxes: safety is my first on the list; the school provides the field I want; it is close to my hometown so I can travel back and forth if necessary; the legal document to travel and study there was less complex compared to other countries, (where we needed to do visa and prove all sort of stuff.) Over time, I became more attached to the city, it is not an easy breathy environment to live and work but it is a good place to start your journey and perhaps to stay.


Well thing changes a lot now, coming to 2022, traveling is more difficult and expensive but I don’t want this to be an excuse for you to not follow your dream or prevent you to go anywhere. A piece of my advice (nowhere near an expert) is everywhere you want to go,

Basic research never hurts

Have an understanding of documents, processing procedure, climate, people, culture, cuisine, environment, etc. This would help you get used to the lifestyle faster.

Be Brave

There are many things outside that you haven’t seen and explored. Part of experiences is to fall and get up, so don’t beat yourself up if things don’t go as planned. As we have learned so far, life can change unpredictably. So live to your best in this very moment.

*A note to my reader:

Just know that this is my personal experience, and I’d like to share my perspective. And to whoever is reading this, thank you for spending time reading my content, and feel welcome to leave your comments.

Stay strong and Stay Inspired!


16 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page